The Kah Kia Kiwi

Kah Kias also got blog one ok

On A Hat Full of Sky

I almost never step into a library without first heading for the ‘P’ for Pratchett section. I’ve been reading Pratchett ever since I was in secondary school, and I’ve always wondered why I haven’t found a fellow Pratchett fan who adores his books the way I do.

Anyway, I picked up this book because if features Granny Weatherwax, which surprised me, because I thought I’ve read everything Pratchett had to say about Weatherwax.

It turned out to be mildly disappointing (but still worth a read, because a Pratchett book is always worth reading) because it was more of a regular quirky fantasy story than his usual wit and obscure humour. The storyline was simple and clean, and contained none of the grandeur nor detail of his usual discworld descriptions.

I wondered if I was starting to lose touch with his brand of humour, and ran a search for the title. It turns out that this book was targeted at a younger audience, hence the simplicity in his writing.

These are dark times, and I badly need a strong dose of Pratchett humour to pull me through.

April 21, 2008 - Posted by | Random Reads

3 Comments »

  1. […] Reviews of A Hat Full of Sky: Kiwi Goes Splat, read_warbler Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett […]

    Pingback by A Hat Full of Sky « A Chain of Letters | May 16, 2008

  2. I loved your review. I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve linked to it as part of my own.

    Comment by chainletters | May 16, 2008

  3. I do not exactly consider what I wrote a review, but whatever.

    Comment by I M A | May 17, 2008


Leave a comment